Barbacoa

April 17, 2009

Couldn’t shake the craving for some super spicy shredded beef tacos, and you know how I love a good braise, so here’s what I did:

3.5 pound round roast
2 stalks celery
2 carrots
2 T Spicy Monterey Steak Seasoning*
1 t cumin
1 t coriander
1 t garlic salt
1 can green chiles
1 small can jalapenos
1/4 red wine
1 1/2 cup chicken stock

1. Rub spices all over roast. I’d like to tell you I seared the roast first, but I was too lazy and it didn’t matter a lick. Place roast in roasting pan on top of the celery and carrots.

2. Top roast with chiles and jalapenos. pour wine and chicken stock in botton of the pan.

3. Cover with foil and place in 300 degree oven for three and a half to four hours or until beef shreds easily.

And here is what I came up with:

There is really only one thing to miss about Texas...

There is really only one thing to miss about Texas...

When cool, shred the beef with two forks. Servce on corn or flour tortillas with cilantro and a squeeze of lime.

*Note:   I am truly sorry I had to resort to a packaged seasoning mix, but dammit, it’s good!

Leave a Reply

