Grace

February 1, 2009

I’d like to give  my sincere thanks to Schmutzie, who has created a community that just plain makes my life better: Grace in Small Things.

My sixth grade history teacher used to review for tests with us, allowing us to go through our notes and ask which information would be covered. We’d ask, “Do we have to know [fill in fascinating history fact or theory]?” and he’d correct us, “Do we GET to know…?” Forcing ourselves to learn these things was a privilege, not a chore.

Grace in Small Things is kind of like that. Do we have to find five places, every day for a year, in which we found grace in this day or for that matter, at any time in our lives? We do, but the best part is, we GET to find grace. In small things, in big things, in struggle and strife and joy and despair and pleasure and peace.

But I’m learning that finding grace isn’t the reward, really. Just the search for it forces me examine my day, my life, myself from a different perspective. This steady daily exercise is a treat in itself. It is becoming habit to face the good things in every situation, whether I want to or not. This positive focus is seeping into all aspects of my life and not only making it easier to be happy, but making me want to be happy. That hasn’t always been the case.

So far, I haven’t had a crisis of grace. I’m sure it will come, but by then I hope that simply the search for grace, even in the darkness, will be my grace in that day. I’m so happy to learn that is enough.

2 Responses to “Grace”

  1. schmutzie Says:

    You nailed it so well for me that I’ve featured this post in a note at GiST.

  2. chickiedoodle Says:

    Thank you. That means so much to me. (I got shivers!)


Leave a Reply

